What to do?

legendlc
Aluminum Star

What to do?

Post by legendlc »

So I may have made a mistake but I purchased a 37 double cabin that has been sitting for 8 years on the hard. The boat was pulled for some work and updates etc. The owner passed away and it has been sitting for 8 years. Everything "seems" to be winterized but further inspection needed. I made a offer without a survey expecting to be laughed at but the estate wanted out of it and the storage fees and took my offer. Now I have a unknown condition 37 M I need to get to my home and begin seeing what I have to work with. I have checked only the 12v system and found every single thing was still operable. Heck only 1 light didn't work and there were a pack of replacements for that onboard. My background is in new cruiser sales and currently automation control engineer. I have rebuilt a few engines in my day and not scared of a rebuild if needed, which I assume it will but have zero evidence of that. Wondering what all to look into and in what order. I know very much about new engines and boats and even sold the first and second Volvo IPS set up boats in North America several years ago. I do not know Chrysler 440's and what to do with old boats that have been sitting. I am guessing pull the plugs and get some MMO or other penetrating oil into the cylinders and see if they turn over? That is about as far as I know. I am guessing packing glands need repacked all impellers need replaced etc........
1978 37 Double Cabin
Lake Cumberland KY
yooper
Aluminum Star

Re: What to do?

Post by yooper »