New owner engine stall issues

fpc310
Tin star

New owner engine stall issues

Post by fpc310 »

I recently bought an 83 32’ sedan flybridge with twin 318’s. The starboard engine seems to run nicely. However, the port dies at idle constantly. I’m not an expert on the marine 318 (although I’ve had one in my vehicle in the past), but I’m sure I will be one in no time.

There are a lot of funny things going on with the port engine.

Slow starter.. like you would expect when the battery is low.
The tachs are totally erratic
Sounds like misfiring at higher rpms
Voltage reads 10v at just above idle.
Stalls at idle

I haven’t had a chance to put a voltmeter or timing light on it yet, but this seems like a good place to start. The one thing that is bothering me is that someone put a new 3-wire alternator on this engine. Now, I’m not too familiar with this setup quite yet, but I would expect a 1-wire alternator is typical for this era? I’m hoping all of the issues I have here are simply a voltage problem and not a ECM / timing issue or worse.

Looking for some ideas on where I should start with these issues. It would also help if anyone knows a Chrysler marine mechanic in the Catawba island area. So far, I can’t seem to find one that knows much about these engines.
Todd
1983 32’ SedanFlybridge
Twin 318 Chryslers.
Marblehead, Ohio
javalin390
Royal Aluminum Star

Re: New owner engine stall issues

Post by javalin390 »