Marinette purchase advice

Things that are of general interest.
gdogfunk
New poster

Marinette purchase advice

Post by gdogfunk »

Hello Marinette owners!

I am seriously considering a 1987 Marinette 28' Express HT with dual 318s and about 1200 hours on a fairly well maintained example. I test drove her this weekend and it was a great experience. I'm new to boating in general, but have narrowed my focus to a Marinette 28' based on size, my perceived boating needs (fishing and day cruising) and the aluminum hull for non- fiberglass related issues. However, the owners are smokers and claim they only smoke with the windows open. Considering the ashtrays within arms reach in every area of the boat, I somewhat find that hard to believe.

How hard is it to remove a smoke smell from the interior of a Marinette? Is it permanent and I'll smell it forever? Am I better off waiting until a better example comes along? As a first time boat owner to be, I feel a 28' would be easier to handle than a 32'. The availability of any 28' seems to be very rare at the moment. Any thoughts or advice? Thank you in advance,

Ryan
jralbert
Site Admin

Re: Marinette purchase advice

Post by jralbert »

two thoughts: it should be no harder to remove cig smell from a boat than from, say a dwelling. Lots of info on the web. If we could get the smell of putrified bait out of the boat in a summer fiasco, you can get cig smell out. Activated charcoal - avail in pet fish stores and online - is great at trapping odors. You can toss it periodically (great for flower beds) or you can boil it to release the trapped odors and re-use.

#2 - new to boating means you're best first expense is a tough surveyor who will tell you what you might not want to hear about the boat you're falling in love with. A boat is not a woman though it may call to you as one. Her/his advice will pay for the service many times over.
-joel-
former owner 1988 '32 FB Sedan
Chesapeake Bay
twin 318 / 240 hp
Potomac MD
Rockit