First Post, First Boat, 32' Sedan

Things that are of general interest.
info4all
Tin star

First Post, First Boat, 32' Sedan

Post by info4all »

Hello Everyone,

I have been looking for a 32' Marinette Sedan for about a year and we just put down the deposit on a '76 Sedan. I am new to boating but have been reading up on Big M's for a few months and would love some advice from everyone here. To start off, I will fill you in on my observations and what I have learned today.

First things first, this boat is clean. New gauges on the bottom side, new floor, new bathroom, and composting toilet. Aesthetics cannot be beat but there is the smell of mildew that would not go away now matter how much the owner tried to air out the boat. Is this common? What are your experiences with this?

The engine looked good. I spent 20 minutes going over every hose and seal. No leaking from the engine but the port side stuff box leaked 1 drop every 3 seconds when the engine was not running, though except for that one spot the hull was dry.

The generator starts but when a load is put on it, like running the air conditioner, the motor starts bogging and quits. I haven't looked into these generators but I have a few ideas on how to approach this. If you have experienced this before, let me know how you trouble shot and fixed the issue.

I intended to go over the electrical system but I got side tracked. There was one quirk with the ignition. According to the owner you have to turn the ignition to the off position twice to stop power from flowing to the starter. Apparently the starters were recently rebuilt but this is the first time I have heard of an ignition switch acting like this. Has anyone else seen this before?