interior removal for mold mitigation

Fresh & Waste Water Systems, Climate Control, etc.
wacdlw

interior removal for mold mitigation

Post by wacdlw »

Hello,

I have been looking for an 28' express for a few months now and have found the one I want. It is very expensive but in in very good condition except for one possible show stopper. I have allergies to some molds and the interior of this boat seems to harbor some molds that make me very sick. I would still like to purchase this boat if mold mitigation is doable.

My questions are: (I am an engineer/x-tool make that has built two houses so I have some abilities but almost now experience working on boats.)

1. Can the entire interior be dis-assembled and re-assembled or are there parts that must be destroyed to be removed?
2. How big of a job would this be? If one of you guys could guess at the hours involved it would be great.
3. Is there information available I can use as a guild to help me through this repair. maybe something that would help explain the best order to remove things, what to treat/coat hidden surfaces with to control/encapsulate mold......what type of fasteners to use....

And one final sanity check question. The boat is a very nice 1985 twin screw. By the time I get it home the cost will be about 20K. The boat does have about $2500 in electronics. Is this just too much to pay for even a real nice 28' express?

I am going back to look at the boat again today at 11:00 so if anyone could reply before then it would be great.

Thank you,
Bill.
Tranquilo
Royal Aluminum Star

Re: interior removal for mold mitigation

Post by Tranquilo »

1. I have ripped out the entire interior and rebuilt it using bamboo plywood. Its awesome. If I were to do the project again, I'd do it all in another material like formica for cost and finishing reasons. To remove everything, you need to remove the front windows (only way to get rid of the fridge).