Oxidation

Things that are of general interest.
wacdlw

Oxidation

Post by wacdlw »

Oxidized Aluminum? Hello over the last few months I have looking for a good 28’ Express. I am an engineer and have worked on and owned many old cars and motorcycles but this will be the first old boat. My question is. I saw two really nice looking boats but they both had an issue that I am not sure what to make of. Inside the boat under the floor at the bottom of the hull (at the v) the undercoating was lifter in many areas. These areas were about the length of my hand and about ½ to ¾ high. I cut one of these lifted sections open and it was filled with a white granular substance that I think was Oxidized aluminum. I am guessing this is real bad but I want to make sure. The boats were very nice other than that. I don’t know how much oxide build-up equals how much missing aluminum. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
wacdlw

Re: Oxidation

Post by wacdlw »

Hi I wrote the Oxidation note. I guess I should have said corrosion? If any of you guys have experience with this please let me know. I am really looking forward to getting an express but I don't have experience with aluminum hulls.
jmonday
Aluminum Star

Post by jmonday »

Look up and read as much as you can on electrolysis. Most of the time you see it as smaller round spots. I have a 28 express and was able to speak with the person that coated the bottom after being completely striped down so i was very comfortable buying it.
Jeff Monday (Blue Mondays)
1973 28 ft Express single 318 1976 StarCraft Islander 1961 Sea Nymph
Lower River rd
Rabbit Hash KY
jralbert
Site Admin

Post by jralbert »